UnBiased Reviews

Wow, I’ve been gone for a while. Sorry about the departure. I’m in the process of moving so please bear with me.  In the mean time I have been doing a lot of reading and I’ve been seeing a reoccurring theme.  I blog (rant) for fun, but I have noticed that more and more bloggers, journalist and other video game reviewers are siding with game companies.  What I’m talking about is that video game sources such as EuroGamer, GameSport and a few others which are supposed to be a bit more on the unbiased side. They seem to be more in the pocket than I originally thought.

I understand that people are going to be biased one way or another when it comes to doing video games and the such, but when you completely sell out and I’m waiting on your review to purchase a game, I can say I feel jaded. I was always under the impression that the people who were doing the reviews for the games, and blogging from the forefront of the video game world were people that I could depend on not to be the sell outs.  I know that when reading anything, you have to do a little sleuth work on your own, but I didn’t think it was this bad…yet.  Please take this into consideration, I’m not talking about people who just open up pages and say they are a gaming company. I am talking about sites such as CGChartz, Rock Paper, Shotgun, Kotaku, GameSpy, and Joystiq to give you a ball park view.

One more thing, I do feel that the people who write reviews do owe me their honest opinion and not the store bought one. Especially if you’re a site that’s supposed to be one of the go to sites in order to get information. This is one of the reason’s I stopped purchasing GamePro, GameInformer, and EGM.  You could almost tell who threw money at the companies for a good review.  This same thing happened with GameSpot. Remember what happened to Jeff Gerstmann when he gave bad reviews for Kane & Lynch? HE GOT FIRED.  http://www.computerandvideogames.com/340271/fired-kane-lynch-reviewer-rejoins-gamespot-parent-explains-story/ .

Ultimately what started (or the tipping point for this article) was the recent (well, maybe not so recent anymore) incident at EuroGamer. A writer of EuroGamer spoke on this same issue and got his article lobotomized because he called out other prolific writers in the gaming industry and they didn’t like being called sell outs. http://www.cinemablend.com/games/Eurogamer-Writer-Fired-Pointing-Out-How-Much-Video-Game-Journalism-Fails-48600.html  Listen, you have to call a spade a spade.

I sometimes wish I had enough money to start my own company so that I could give my own reviews (that and the time too. Skyrim/Halo 4/ ACIII is taking up WAY too much of my life right now). But back to my topic, I believe that as a site/company/organization that does reviews, or seriously blogs about the gaming industry, you should be honest. I do understand that you get money from ad revenue, but that doesn’t mean you should screw me over just to make a fast buck. How long do you think you’ll be making that money if I think your site sucks?

Leave a Reply

