Why can’t great games make great movies?

There’s a burning question that I have is why do great games often make horrible movies?  I mean there are some movies that do alright, but they never come close to making me feel how I did while playing the game.  For instance, the almighty fail of a movie called Mario Bros. Now, I understand that this movie was pretty much destined to fail (after all, the plot for Mario Bros is pretty straight forward. Run, jump, swim, defeat dragon and repeat.)  Then there are the movie crossovers that do exactly what we expect them to (pretty much the entire Pokémon series here.)  Then we start to get into some dismal movies from games here. Mortal Kombat, Tomb Raider, Resident Evil and Silent Hill were all movies based on the games that I believe did very well.  Followed up in the “Alright” group would be Hitman, Max Payne, and Prince of Persia. Pulling up at the bottom would be Double Dragon, Street Fighter, and Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within.  Also, I’d like to state that I know  there are more game to movie crossovers, but I’m simply listing the ones that have made it to the movie theatre.

Now, I made this list short only because the majority of the movies that I would have mention would end up in the bottom end of the spectrum.   There are games that I would love to see created as movies but I cringe as I hear about how Hollywood butchers movies. For instance, there was a rumor that Uncharted was going to become a movie and that they had slated Mark Walburg as Drake. Now for those who have never played the game might feel indifferent, but to anyone who has built a relationship with these characters would know that Mark Walburg is about as far from Drake as you could get.  Then there was the whole Halo issue. Everyone knew that the movie was coming out and that it was going to be awesome, but then something happened that I’m both happy and sad about. Microsoft refused to let the movie industry destroy their idea which led to the movie being canceled. I, as a gamer, am happy about this.  This means the image I have of Master Chief cannot be tarnished, but that means I also lose the ability to see MC kicking ass and chewing bubble gum.  So I am split 50/50 on that one.  Then I think of how bad Doom was and I think that I might have dodged a face shot with this.  Rumor has it that a new host of movies are getting ready to come out based off video games.

  • Assassin’s Creed, Need for Speed (I predict failure with this one.)
  • RE6 (Haven’t they beaten this into the ground yet?)
  • Deus Ex (there’s a LOT of potential with this one.)
  • Angry Bird (No Comment)
  • Warcraft (This is suspect)
  • Ratchet and Clank (Really?)
  • Tomb Raider reboot (actually looking forward to this)
  • Heavenly Sword (I’m mixed with this one)
  • Mortal Kombat: Resurrection (If it’s anything like it’s YouTube cousin, I’ll be front and center)
  • Tekken (I REFUSE to watch this)
  • Splinter Cell (I don’t know)
  • Uncharted (as long as it’s not Mark Walburg)
  • Devil May Cry (This could be REALLY good or REALLY bad)
  • God of War (Same as DMC)
  • Portal (I’ve mixed emotions on this one)

My biggest gripe is why the video game companies don’t simply make their own movies. It’s obvious that they can. Did anyone watch the YouTube videos for Mortal Kombat, Halo or even Ghost Recon?  I am extremely reserved when it comes to watching anything Hollywood puts out these days, even more so especially concerning video game to movie crossovers. I feel the same way about movies made from books; they just never seem to get it right.

Your thoughts?Image

Leave a Reply

